Jawbone UP24 Review

For the past four months I’ve been using the Jawbone UP24 activity tracker.

There is an overwhelming number of activity trackers available and this can make it hard to find the right one. So, the best place to start is to think about HOW you plan to use it.

What features I was looking for in an activity tracker were:

  • Something to use for daily accountability (not super performance)
  • Synce with My Fitness Pal
  • Was accurate at counting my activity/steps
  • Had a decent battery life
  • An app that was easy to navigate
  • Provided me with extra tips and health facts

What first attracted me to this device was the minimalistic band, that looked more like a bracelet than a fitness tracker. Since I planned on wearing it everyday, I didn’t want to have something that LOOKED too much like a tracker.

But since the bands output display was extremely limited, the features of the app greatly matter.

Main page of Jawbone UP24 app.

The app tracks sleep, steps and food.

After using the app for several months now, I’ve been able to really understand the capabilities of the app.

I’ve really enjoy seeing my quantity and quality of sleep I get during the night. And notice the I crave carbs when I don’t get enough sleep.

Seeing this number of steps I’ve taken throughout the day helps to motivate me to make changes in my day to reach my goal.  On some nights it might suggest to take a 7 minute walk to reach my goal.

The food score isn’t my favorite feature. I’ve continued to enter my food into My Fitness Pal because it is easier and has a larger database. My Fitness Pal will sync with the Jawbone app which then gives me a rating based on how healthy my diet has been. I think the scoring is a little frustrating (my chicken eggs only get a score of 6.5) but it has helped me realize when I haven’t been eating as healthy as I could be.

Three different screen shots.

The Jawbone UP24 seems to be accurate with my sleep and steps, and I enjoy the ability to sync with My Fitness Pal.  I love that people mistake it for a piece of jewelry, and I love the way it fits.  The tips and health advice have been helpful for me to know what I need to change to become healthier.

Overall, I’ve really enjoy the Jawbone UP24 and plan to coninue using the Jawbone brand.

One thought on “Jawbone UP24 Review

Leave a Reply

